Default mode

20140709-092222-33742955.jpg
It can sometimes be work swimming. When I say work what I mean is, not fun or refreshing. It’s not the swim per say but rather me. Maybe I drank too much, ate too much in the middle of the night (as usual), over trained. Whatever the reason sometimes I just want to go back to sleep. The good thing is that I built a habit of getting up and just going. Usually I get into it after I warm up a bit. Sometimes however the negativity and mental voices telling me to quit just won’t shut up. But I found the secret.
It’s not so much a secret as it is my selective hearing turned onto myself. I tend to ignore things I don’t want to hear or see. Not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing but in this case it helps. It takes a while sometimes to not hear the negative and just drown out, no pun intended. Swimming has become very natural for me so I have learned to shut down all thoughts and just go into what I can default mode. It’s not flow but rather a forced flow state but not as relaxing.
I know I’m a weirdo. But at least I got through today’s swim
7
– Barton

Leave a Reply

